Sunday, March 19, 2006

Next Primary is in Illinois

The date is March 21, 2006 for the Illinois primary. There is no senate race in the state this year. The most interesting race I see so far is the seat left open when Henry Hyde announced his retirement. There are three Democrats running for the nomination in the primary including Iraq war veteran and double amputee Tammy Duckworth. She has received support from John Kerry.

District by district...because I know you all want to know...right? If it's highlighted in red it is currently held by a Republican, blue a Democrat and green is open.

CD1 - The incumbent is Bobby Lee Rush. He was arrested in 2004 for protesting alleged human rights violations in Sudan at the Sudanese Embassy in Washington, DC. Um....personally I give him a pass on that one. Phillip Jackson is challenging him in the primary. The winner will face Republican Jason Tabour in November.

CD2 - Democrat
Jesse L. Jackson, Jr is the incumbent. I can find no negative news linked to Mr. Jackson. He faces Libertarian Anthony Williams (no web site) and the winner of the Republican primary between Robert Belin and Howard Schug.

CD3 - Democrat
Dan Lipinski is the incumbent and faces two challengers in the upcoming primary. They are John T. Kelly and John P. Sullivan. The winner of the Democratic primary election will face either Arthur Joseph Jones or Raymond G. Wardingly.

CD4 - There is no primary challenge in this district. Incumbent Democrat Congressman Luis V. Gutierrez will face Republican challenger Ann Melichar in November.

CD5 - Congressman
Rahm Emanuel will face Mark Arnold Fredrickson and and John Haptonstall in the Democratic primary on March 21. The winner of the primary will meet Kevin Edward White in November.

CD6 - Three Democrats and one Republican are seeking the seat left open when Congressman Henry Hyde announced his retirement. The Democrats facing each other on Tuesday are
Tammy Duckworth, Christine Cegelis and Lindy Scot. The winner on Tuesday will go up against Peter J. Roskam.

CD7 - The incumbent Democrat, Congressman
Danny K. Davis is challenged by Jim Ascot and Robert Dallas on Tuesday. The winner will meet Charles Hutchinson in November.

CD8 -
Congressman Melissa Luburich Bean is not challenged in the primary on Tuesday. She and Independent Bill Scheurer will meet the winner of the Republican primary in November. The Republicans running on Tuesday are Kenneth Wayne "Ken" Arnold, Robert W. Churchill, Aaron B. Lincoln, David McSweeney, James Creighton Mitchell, Jr., and Kathy Salvi.

CD9 - Democratic incumbent
Congressman Janice D. "Jan" Schakowsky does not face a primary challenger on Tuesday. She will face either Simon M. Ribeiro or Michael P. Shannon after the Republican primary election on Tuesday.

CD10 - Two Democrats face each other on Tuesday. They are
Dan Seals and Zane Smith. The winner will meet Republican incumbent Congressman Mark Steven Kirk.

CD11 - There is no primary race in this district on Tuesday. In November Democrat
John Justin Pavich and Green Jamie Mock will meet Republican incumbent Congressman Gerald C. "Jerry" Weller.

CD12 - There is no Republican challenger in this district, so the election will be won on Tuesday. The incumbent,
Congressman Jerry F. Costello is running against Kenneth Charles "Kenny" Weizer.

CD13 - Two Democrats and two Republicans face off on Tuesday. The two Democrats are
Bill Reedy and Joseph Shannon. The two Republicans are Congressman Judy Biggert and Bob Hart. The winner of each race will meet in November.

CD14 - Two Democrats will vie for the nomination on Tuesday. The winner between Ruben Kanhai-Zamora and Jonathan "John" Laesch will face Republican incumbent Congressman J. Dennis Hastert.

CD15 - There is no primary opposition to either candidate. Democrat David M. Gill will meet incumbent Republican Congressman Timothy V. "Tim" Johnson in November.

CD16 - Democrat Richard D. "Dick" Auman will meet Congressman Donald A. Manzullo in November. Neither has opposition in the primary election.

CD17 - Incumbent Democrat Congressman Lane A. Evans has no primary opposition and will face either Brian Scott Gilliland, James Andrew "Jim" Mowen or Andrea Lane Zinga in November. All three are Republicans and will face each other on Tuesday.

CD19 - The incumbent is Republican John Shimkus. He faces no primary opponent. Shimkus will face one of two Democrats, Vic Roberts or Danny Stover in November.

Indiana, North Carolina and Ohio will be next with a primary election date of May 2.


Post a Comment

<< Home